Thinking On Paper

Thinking on Paper

By Jae Vel

I like to think that the conversations we had have stuck with you

I like to think that you wear black for me

I like to think that you wear black in hopes that I will one day see

That I will see and I will know you have been thinking of me

I like to think that in a crowd of people that you always look for me

That when you listen to the ballads and songs of loss, you are thinking of what could have been

I like to think that you care and try to show me in little ways that only I would understand

I like to think that I was not wrong about you

I like to think that the choices you made were for my benefit

I like to think that I knew you

I like to think I haven’t deluded myself and made more of things than truly was there

I like to think that one day you will ask for my forgiveness

I like to think that you will come back one day after you realize that what we felt was real

I like to think that when that day comes it will be too late for “I’m sorry.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

